1995 Infiniti Q45 4.5L V8 from North America

Summary:

A solid V8 beast



Faults:

- When I first got it, it never went faster then 2000 RPM because the MAF sensor was broken, but I replaced it and now it runs fine.

- Smells like gas on the inside.

- I know that this car uses premium gas only, but it drinks so much I've gotten to the point where I just put regular in to save money.

- The power steering sucks, like I REALLY have to put muscle in to drive it normally.

- Brakes wear pretty fast.

General Comments:

- I paid $400 cash for it (my first car).

- Despite the car being over 25 years old, it still gets up and goes fast.

- This car is SOLID AF, like it's literally a steel tank.

- For the most part it's pretty reliable, but it seems like the gas hand goes down every time I move it.

- I love the roaring sound of that 4.5L V8 revving up; it reminds me how bad ass it is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th January, 2018

6th Jan 2018, 17:09

"Despite the car being over 25 years old"?

It's only 2018, McFly!

7th Jan 2018, 03:31

It’s pretty common for vehicles to be built before the model year which is listed. I’m guessing that’s what the reviewer meant.

7th Jan 2018, 13:48

So, a 1995 model year vehicle was actually built in 1992 to be "more than 25 years old" by 2018. I'm guessing that didn't happen.

7th Jan 2018, 17:02

Some people on here seem to delight in over critiquing others. For all intents and purposes, it’s really extremely minor over the closeness in date difference. I think most get the previous commenter's point.

8th Jan 2018, 04:22

OH NO! The reviewer is off by 2 years. Shame on them for rounding the vehicle's age to 25 years of age instead of the actual 23.

10th Jan 2018, 11:46

With this in mind as another suggestion, do not round off the exact purchase price of a vehicle. Include the exact change with every single penny totally accounted for. You may be highly inaccurate and cause worry. Amazing.

1995 Infiniti Q45 A V8 from North America

Summary:

Reliable, yet hard to maintain

Faults:

Power steering pump has been out since the week I bought it.

The car smells terribly of gas inside.

Brakes go bad really quickly.

4th gear went out the other day.

Interior wears and looks awful.

General Comments:

Car starts on a dime, every time.

Has lots of luxury equipment (heated leather seats).

Very fast!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2012

1995 Infiniti Q45 from North America

Summary:

A money vacuum

Faults:

Automatic suspension completely bad when purchased at 90,000 miles.

Leaky gasket head with oil pouring out of it when purchased at 90,000 miles.

General Comments:

Hopefully someone will learn from my idiotic mistake. Purchased a 1995 Infiniti Q45a in 2005 with 90,000 miles on it. Low miles for the year. Carfax checked out clean. Paid $5200.

Took the car to our local mechanic for a once over, and discovered the suspension was bad and there was leaky head gasket that was so severe the oil was pouring out of it. Was told they could not fix it, had to be done by a dealer. Took it to Infiniti dealership the next day. Was informed the suspension needed replaced to the tune of $5500 for parts ONLY. The gasket replacement was in the neighborhood of $2000. We were looking at spending $7500 to fix a car we had just bought a week prior, and that was BEFORE labor costs.

This car only had 90,000 miles on it, and was driven by a female doctor who put less than 11,000 miles on it annually. Not only should the car have broken like this, but the cost to repair is just plain ludicrous.

Don't make the mistake I did. Don't buy an Infiniti, especially a used one. It's like emptying your bank account and flushing every last dime down the drain. Supposedly they are fairly reliable cars, but when they do break down, the repair costs can be far more than the car is worth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th April, 2005

5th Jun 2005, 09:21

Yes the Q45 can be a pain. i purchased a 1996 Q with 45000 miles and the air conditioner compressor went bad. Parts from dealer where way to high for rebuilt $780,i found a rebuilt on internet for $290 but my tech wouldn't install it. well $1325 later it worked for 5 days.ill bring it back on Monday to have them fix it again for free!!